What's a Good Painting?

  •  Some would say that a good painting is any painting they like. Some would look up what the artist's works sell for and say that a good painting is any work that sells for $X. Some wouid look at what classical scholarship would value--perspective, composition, color, etc. & evaluate the work in that light. My wife and I have spent the last 40 years looking for good paintings. During that time we've bought & sold hundreds of paintings thru the world's major auction houses. We send, on average, a couple of paintings per month to New York or Santa Fe, or Dallas, etc. for sale. Tuesday's show will examine what other people (the world's art collectors) value & how you can estimate value on paintings you own or encounter. This is a difficult subject and opinions will vary. Your aim is just to be right more often than you're wrong. Hope you can join me Tuesday at 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST, 5PM PST for this week's chat. Gary