Prices for Antiques Through the Years

  •  On Tuesday evening's show I'll try to find trends in the pricing of antiques thru the years--at least thru my 40 years in the business. Have you ever heard an auctioneer say that he sold something exactly like what he's selling now 20 years ago at a price about 4 times higher than his current bid? Have you ever read a book with a price guide written by an "expert" in the field, and you knew the prices were at least twice what you could get for similar items? We'll try to get behind the hype and discover what's happened to prices in  general and to prices in particular categories over the years. And if we can find trends, maybe, just maybe, we'll be able to see why prices have changed, and from that maybe we'll be able to predict what might happen to prices going forward. Very challenging subject, don't  you think? I may be the only person naive enough to even try. Hope you can join me & laugh at my opinions, which are absolutely guaranteed--guaranteed as much as the auctioneers' descriptions & the price guide writers' price lists! Hope to see you at 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST Tuesday for this week's chat on antiques. Gary