Identifying Metals

  •  This evening I'll be discussing how to identify the metals used in antiques. I did a show on Pewter and one on Silver, in which we examined characteristics, marks, etc. Videos of both of those shows are in the Archive. Today I want to cover, particularly, bronze, brass, copper & spelter. We'll also look at a few items made of iron, steel, tin, nickel, and gold. We'll have one "what is it?" item--bet nobody can tell us what it is! Also, I want to give you an update on last week's chat, "Book Collecting." Hope you can join us at 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST today, Tuesday. Gary