Black Light Use for Antiques

  • A black light can often be a usefull tool for identifying and dating antiques and works of art, and it can often help determine whether repairs have been made. In this week's show we'll look at how a black light can be used to detect repairs to porcelain, determine whether glass is period or a reproduction, date textiles, authenticate dating on cast iron and painted wood furniture, and consider ways a black light can be used to examine works of art and other works on paper. In my experience use of a black light alone is almost never enough to give you all the information you need to date and authenticate antiques, but it has often been an essential tool in aiding in that process. Please join us this coming Sunday evening, January 14, 2018 for this week's program on the Use of a Black Light for Antiques. We're on at 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. Gary