Impact of the Housing Market on Sales of Antiques

  • I went to an auction in Denver Saturday night where a 3" x 2" tintype of Billy the Kid sold for $2.3 million, against a pre-sale estimate of $300,000-400,000. Josh posted a link to the CNN story earlier today. A belt buckle (no diamonds) sold for about $16,000. It was "special" too. Sound like sales in your area?  The most recent Case Shiller Home Price Index shows that since the housing bubble burst in 2006 home prices are down about 36% nationwide, which exceeds the decline in housing prices during the Great Depression of the 1930's (about 33% then). We all know that sales of antique furniture, household furnishings, art, etc. are tied to the housing cycle. In Tuesday's program I'll be discussing how to make sense out of current trends in antiques pricing--all opinions are 100% guaranteed to be true! Join in the discussion and give us your take on how things are going. We're on same time, same place, Tuesday at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT, 1AM Irish time (yes, Colm, you had your bubble in Ireland, too). Look forward to seeing you then. Gary