Staffordshire & Delft

  • In this week's chat we'll examine Staffordshire pottery of the 18th & 19th centuries and compare with true Delft pottery from Holland. I've got some great examples, including a signed blue & white Delft jar with lid from Holland, c. 1770; a pair of large Stafforeshire dogs with glass eyes; a pair of Staffordshire lions with glass eyes; a sensational Copeland & Garrett foot bath c. 1840; and many other interesting and representative pieces. In the trade we call blue & white from Holland, "Delft," and if from Great Britain, "delft," lower case or "delftware." Reproductions have flooded the market over the last 50 years, and we'll try to find ways of distinguishing the old from the new. Values have changed in the last 15 years, some things up, others down, and we'll look at pricing trends. BTW, those of you who tuned in last week to watch the show on finding bargains for less than $100 didn't act fast enough on the Buck Dunton etching. I gave you 5 days, and since no one had bought it, I did. He or she who hesitates... Hope you can catch this week's show live, at the usual time, tomorrow, Tuesday, at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary