19th Century English Furniture

  • Tuesday's chat will feature 19th century English furniture in a comparison with furniture being produced in that same period in the U. S. I happen to have some great pieces of unusual English furniture in inventory at this time, so I thought I would show them to you before some astute customer comes into the Mall and buys them up! Some are oak: a Wellington chest, 2 hall chairs, a swing-leg table; one is in rosewood--a chiffonier; there's a mahogany butler's tray & stand; a pair of ladder-back chairs in pear wood; a Regency table lamp, etc. We'll discuss some ways in which to distinguish between the English & American furniture of the period and discuss values. Also, if you missed Saturday's show on the Classifieds, you missed seeing Ski  discussing some of the items now in our Classified Section--be sure to catch it when it's available in the Archive. Ski is one of a kind--by far the most knowledgeable antiques guy I've met in my 40+ years in the business. He'll be on once a month talking about things in the Classifieds. Our show this week is on at the usual time, Tuesday at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Hope you can join us. Gary