Stained & Painted Glass Windows

  • In this evening's chat I'll be discussing stained glass windows, painted glass windows, and stained glass windows that have been painted. Stained & painted glass has a long history, and, of course, is a major collecting category, and we'll briefly discuss that history before considering the qualities & attributes of several individual pieces that are now for sale in the Mall. There happens to be a 4-panel 10'high set of windows that a dealer recently brought in--I want everybody to have a chance to see this magnificent work of art before somebody who knows what he's doing walks in & buys it! So we'll examine this piece together with several other examples and try to determine whether they're stained or painted, if they've been fired, if they're leaded or copper foiled, what kind of paint was used, what some of the techniques are, determine age & value & place of origin. An image of the 4-panel set is attached. Hope you can join us at the usual time, 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. Gary