Wood Carving on Antique Furniture

  • The quality of the wood carving on antique furniture is often the primary determinant of value, and it certainly is always a major component of the beauty of antique wood. In Tuesday's show we'll examine several highly carved pieces and discuss how well the carving was done, what woodworking techniques were used, how carving is often a clue in dating a piece, and how the quality of the carving affects the value of these individual pieces. If you have pieces that you would like to have me analyze, please send detailed images in advance or during the chat, and we'll include them in the discussion. Hope everyone can tune in at the usual time, 5PM PST, 6PM mst, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. Gary