Art & Antique Pricing Trends

  • It's been a year and 1/2 since I've done a show on trends in the values of antiques, so I guess we're ready for an update. Is it still business as usual--the high end keeps going higher, middle & low level antiques keep going down? If the housing market has stabilized, has furniture finally bottomed? Obviously recognizing trends in the prices of antiques is very difficult, as the market is so fragmented & every piece has its own unique qualities. However, I do think it is possible to recognize broad trends, especially given the historical pricing resources, such as Worthpoint & the art pricing web sites, that are now available. In Tuesday's show we'll examine the evidence. You may be surprised. Bring your own opinions & join the chat. We're on at the usual time, 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. You guys on the East Coast--stay safe! Gary