Pop Culture--Illustration Art

  • Our month long look into the collectibles of Pop Culture continues Tuesday evening with an examination of Illustration Art. Illustration exploded in the mid to late 19th century, as cheap methods of printing led to mass distribution of images, but we'll concentrate primarily on post-war illustration art, beginning with Norman Rockwell and continuing to the present with Alberto Vargas, Gil Elvgren, Alex Schomburg, Pete Hawley, Charles Schultz, Jack Kirby, Steve Ditko, Neal Adams, Rob Liefeld, Todd McFarlane, and others. To say that original illustration art has taken off would be a gross understatement. Also, the boundries that existed in most people's minds between fine art & illustration art have become more & more blurred as prices for original illustrations have skyrocketed. Further, prices of art works by living artists, whether illustrators or fine artists, have exploded. Just last week the highest price ever paid for a work by a living artist was achieved at a Sotheby's auction. We're leading up to the appearance of Neal Adams on our show on May 30. Hopefully Tuesday's program will give us some background on the exciting world that Neal & other illustrators are now operating in. Hope to see everyone Tuesday at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary