19th Century Retailers

  • We all know how important a label can make to the value of an antique, but the label is often that of a maker, not a seller. It's also obvious that a label from the retailer can add interest to an item, but can it  also add value? A couple of months ago I did a show on Tiffany, and we do know that things sold and marked by Tiffany & Co have a cache and added value. But what about the other purveyors of goods in the 19th century? In Tuesday's show we'll investigate the stories of the retailers: American, British, and Continental; and we'll try to determine just how much this kind of provenance can affect collectibility and value. Please join us on Tuesday at the usual time, 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. 
    Click Connect at the top of the page. Gary