Analysis of Pricing Trends

  • In Tuesday's show we'll analyze the trends in pricing that we've identitied in the past 2 weeks shows in an effort to understand the reasons for the price movements, then to predict future trends based on those reasons, and then finally present some suggestions for promoting the positives in each category, hopefully thereby leading to increased demand. Over the past 2 weeks we've looked at prices over the past 20 years in: mechanical banks, postwer & contemporary art, midcentury modern furniture, western American art, antique dolls, signed art photos, Victorian furniture, books, and a couple of months ago we looked at historical pricing for arts & crafts pottery, primarily Teco & Grueby. Just as many categories have gone up dramatically as have gone down, although if you deal primarily in antique furniture you may not appreciate that! As usual all opinions are guaranteed 100% (as opinions)! Bring your own experiences &  join us online at the usual time, Tuesday at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Just click "Connect" at the top of the page. Also, two hours earlier we'll be having our monthly Classified Ads Show live online. Check that out. We've got a new participant, Heather Eckels, an experienced appraiser. You might remember her from her appearance on my show a couple of years ago, when she discussed Coors Pottery--she probably knows more than anyone in the world about Coors Pottery, and she knows a lot about many other categories, as you'll she when she joins Tom Davis & me to discuss recent listings in the iAntique Classifieds. That show starts at 3PM PDT, 4PM MDT, 5PM CDT, 6PM EDT. Gary