Stickley Mission Oak Furniture

  • In Tuesday's show we'll carefully examine 3 very special pieces of Stickley mission oak furniture: a  library table designed by Gustav Stickley c. 1910, a sideboard from L. & J. G. Stickley c. 1910, and a newer L. & J. G. Stickley wood frame sofa. We'll look at the construction details, hardware, finish, ways to identify and date the pieces, and consider how value is determined. How much does having a label affect value? How much does original finish matter? How much more is Gustav worth than L. & J.G. or Stickley Brothers? Or is Gustav worth more?? Stickley is still manufacturing mission oak furniture (and other styles) at their Manlius, New York factory--how do prices for their new pieces compare with those made in the Arts & Crafts period? Does "Made in America" register with today's American consumers, and if so, is it a positive or a negative? Is Arts & Crafts a style now in vogue or is it out? Please tune in at the regular time, Tuesday, at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT as we attempt to answer these and any other questions you might have. Gary