Rare, Early Portraits of Native Americans

  • In the 1820's Native American chiefs came to Washington to sign peace treaties, and whiile there had their portraits painted by James Otto Lewis and Charles Bird King, among others. Lewis & King then visited the Native American communities & painted portraits and scenes from the daily lives of those peoples. The paintings were then lithographed and compiled into volumes, and a few of the plates from those volumes of hand colored lithos have come down to us in good condition. In Tuesday's show we'll examine 3 of these fabulous early works that came from "The Aboriginal Portfolio" of 1835-6 and the "History of the Indian Tribes of North America" of 1836-44 (the famous Mckenney & Hall set). We'll consider the elements that determine today's values, and we'll consider how these works as collectibles compare to the famous Curtis photos of Native American life that were done about 100 years later. Please join us in the chat room at the usual time Tuesday at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary