18th Century Furniture

  • Sunday evening's show is on 18th Century Furniture. We examine pieces from the early 18th century beginning with William & Mary, then Queen Anne, thru the Georges to neoclassism; French pieces from Louis XIV to Louis XV to Louis XVI; and many of the famous cabinetmakers, including Chippendale, Hepplewhite, Sheraton, Jean-Francois Oeben, Roger Vandercruse LaCroix, Gilles Joubert, Andre Charles Boulle. I recently listed 3 outstanding pieces of 18th century furniture in the iAntique Classifieds: an English William & Mary Chest of Drawers, an American Queen Anne Chest on Stand, and a French Louis XVI Mahogany Commode. We'll use these pieces as examples to gain a better understanding of dating and pricing. Check them out before the show. We'll also consider how to distinguish these period pieces from the several revival periods beginning in the late 19th century. We haven't devoted a show to 18th century furniture since we began these programs more than 3 years ago. Luckily we now have 3 great representative pieces to use to demonstrate some of the most important aspects of this category. Please join us online or in the chat room on Sunday evening, Nov. 24, at 6PM PST, 7PM MST, 8PM CST, 9PM EST. Gary