January Classified Ads Show

  • Our monthly program devoted to profiling recent listings in the Classifieds will be shown this coming Sunday evening, Jan. 19, 2014, at 6PM PST, 7PM MST, 8PM CST, 9PM EST. Heather Eckels and Tom Davis join me in discussing interesting listings in various categories, including gaming machines, chromolithographs, Lalique glass, fire station collectibles, midcentury technology, 19th century furniture, vintage purses, antique clocks, majolica, and more. Given the extraordinary recent  increases in rates by almost all the auction houses for both buyer premiums and seller commissions, being able to bypass these expensive middlemen and going directly to end users will become ever more important to sellers. I see the iAntique Classifieds as one very good way to accomplish this, as guess what? It's free, and it's reach is growing. We discuss this trend, and I try to lay out a rationale for members using this website as a vehicle to promote their own approaches to involvement in the art & antiques world, whether they're primarily collectors or dealers. I'd really be interested in what you think about that. Hope to see you online Sunday evening. Gary