The Demise of Book Stores, NOT!

  • Book stores are dinosaurs as the online world has killed them of, and libraries have become places where you go online if you don't have a computer of your own and where you rent dvds. That's the conventional wisdom, but it is correct? I don't think it's correct. I think there's a place for traditional book stores, and I try to lay out my case in Sunday evening's show. The Tattered Cover in Denver, Vroman's in Pasadena, Foyle's in London, and countless others around the world have found their niches, and books continue to sell well in antique stores and malls (at least they do in the Brass Armadillo in Denver). So, how do these stores prosper in the face of $1 books on Abe and downloaded books online? That's what we'll try to answer on Sunday. Hope you can join us at the usual time 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary