Tilt Top Tables--Good, Better & Best

  • For this week's show I'll be discussing 3 tilt top tripod tables from the early 19th century, trying to compare their attibutes & deficiencies, using the bible in our industry, Albert Sack's "Fine Points of American Furniture: Good, Better, and Best" as my guide. Before Mr. Sack turns over in his grave, let me just say that I do understand that my analysis will not rise to anything close to his level. The program is basically a tribute to his impact on antique dealers in now several generations. I do think that it can be informative to make these kinds of comparisons, though, even if we don't have Superior or Masterpiece examples. In this show all 3 tables are valued at less than $1,000 each, but they do allow me to touch on the various elements that add and detract from value in this category. Hope you can join us on Sunday, November 16, 2014 at the usual time: 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. And hey, guys, it's awfully cold here in Denver!Gary