Antique Boxes--Good, Better & Best

  • Several weeks ago we did a show on antique tilt-top tripod tables, and analyzed them according to the approach of Albert Sack, one of the foremost names in the antiques world in the 20th century. His book, "Fine Points of American Furniture: Good, Better, and Best" is a classic known to all serious antique dealers. I've tried the same approach in this week's program on Antique Boxes. We've got 4 pieces to consider: 2 tea caddies, a dressing box, and a bank box. All are English, 1 is 18th century while the other 3 are 19th century; and each has a different primary wood: rosewood, mahogany, walnut, and yew. They're similar, but they're different, so I hope they'll provide good examples to compare against each other. We're on Sunday evening at the usual time, December 7, 2014 at 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. Hope you can tune in. Gary