Antique Display Cabinets

  • This week's show on Sunday evening will feature an examination of 8 antique display cabinets. Most of them were china cabinets in their day, but now these pieces are used in ingenious ways by collectors to show their collections, no matter what the collection comprises. We'll look at dating the pieces, what features add or detract from value, how to distinguish between the antique cabinets and the many more modern versions. A major reason why there are so many reproductions is that the form remains extremely desirable. It's conformed itself to modern uses in a way that few antiques have. That's why values have remained hgh, even though other examples of Victorian furniture have seen price declines. Hope you can join us Sunday, December 14, 2014 at the usual time: 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST.