Artifacts of the Chinese Cultural Revolution

  • Please join Chris & me Sunday evening for a show on his world-class collection of Artifacts of the Chinese Cultural Revolution. Among the extraordinary pieces are: a huge gouache by famed artist, Lin Fengmian, from the 1960's--it depicts a seated Chairman Mao, surrounded by standing admirers--guess why this very piece resulted in the denunciation of Lin Fengmian by the Gang of Four? This important work has not been seen since the 1960's; a collection of 10-12 ink washes by Huang Zhou depicting one of his favorite subjects, donkeys--guess why these works resulted in Huang Zhou's denunciation by the Gang of Four?; several other noteworthy paintings completely unknown to the world; and porcelain figures created to exemplify themes of the Cultural Revolution. If you've watched the shows on "Imperial Chinese Art--Ching Dynasty" and "Designs of the Empress Dowager Cixi" then you know how extraordinary Chris' collections of Chinese art and antiques are. These pieces on the Cultural Revolution are no less exciting & important. (If you haven't seen those shows, they're in the Videos section.) We're on at the usual time this Sunday evening, March 22, 2015, at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Nothing ever done on the internet or on tv on this subject compares in any way to the significance of this show Sunday. Hope you can join us.