Rule #5

  • We've been doing shows on iAntique for more than 5 years now, and at the end of each year I suggest a rule that I believe dealers in art & antiques should follow in order to be as successful as they can. It's now that time of year for me to stick my neck out & suggest a new rule, RULE #5. My first 4 rules were: (1) You make your money when you buy, not when you sell, (2) It's better to have one item worth $10,000 than 10 items worth $1,000 each, (3) You can beat anybody in this game but you can't beat Christie's & Sotheby's, (4) Never buy what you like. You can see that these rules are for dealers, ie people who want to make money, not for collectors & hobbyists (who just don't seem to care whether they make money or not)! So, please tune in this Sunday evening to see what I've developed as my new rule, RULE #5. It actually could apply not only to dealers but also to collectors & hobbyists. That is, unless those collectors & hobbyists are just dead set on giving their money away! We're on at the usual time Sunday evening, July 26, 2015, at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary