Researching Values Part I

  • One of our members, Tracy Baker, asked whether anyone could identify the artist of a painting she owns. I immediately thought I did recognize the artist, but the signature was wrong. That's the way I spend most of my time every day--trying to identify the artists of unsigned or indecipherably signed paintings. What a life! So, I thought that it might be fun to do a show on how I go about trying to find masterpieces hidden in plain view. Then, I thought, why not ask all of you to help in that endeavor? So, I'm doing a 2-part show on researching items I find for sale--not just paintings, but just about everything that needs research. In the first part, which will air Sunday evening, I discuss about 15 pieces that I think could be of interest--advertising signs, posters, paintings, country store collectibles, etc. But in this part I only show them to you & discuss what I see. What I'm asking all of you to do in this first part is to help me identify what the items are & how much they're worth. Then, in the second part, which will air the following Sunday, I'll tell you what I've found. So, you'll have a week to research on your own and then determine whether you agree with me. If all of this sounds strange, you'll just have to tune in to see what I'm talking about! Hope you can join us this coming Sunday evening, August 2, 2015, at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT for Part I of Researching Values. Gary