Bob Caron Archive--The Enola Gay

  • We've uncovered some new material that relates to the life of George R. (Bob) Caron, the tailgunner of the Enola Gay & the man who took the famous photo of the mushroom cloud on August 6, 1945. 3 years ago we interviewed Bob's daughter, Jane, who had a treasure trove of, primarily written, materials relating to the life of her father and his remembrances of the dropping of the atom bomb on Hiroshima. That show is archived in the Videos section. Then in 2013 Dan Briddle, the Administrator of iAntique and the General Manager of the Brass Armadillo Antique Mall in Goodyear, AZ, had the only copy of an interview with Bob, done by a radio station in Wichita, KS which was on a phonograph record, transcribed into a digital format. That recording, which I highly recommend because you can tell so much about Bob listening to his voice, is also in the Videos section. Then in 2014 we attended the American Political Items Collectors Show, where Jane was present to display the Bob Caron archive. We also interviewed her at that time. Then later in 2014 Jane found a binder with additional materials relating to Bob and the Enola Gay. So, in this week's show we've returned to the theme of the Hiroshima bombing by discussing this new information, which probably completes the Bob Caron archive. We've been privileged to present the story of this history making event, one of the seminal events of the 20th century, from the perspective of one of its central figures--an eloquent, thoughtful man. A man you'll never forget. Please tune in this coming Sunday, September 6, 2015, for our concluding show on the Life of Bob Caron. We're on at the usual time, 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary