Lyubov Popova & the Russian Avant Garde

  • Since we began these shows more than 5 years ago, we've had several (actually 8) that featured collectibles that had values higher than anything ever brought into Antiques Roadshow in all its 18 years. I am the biggest fan of Antiques Roadshow that exists--I never miss a show, and I really enjoy listening to their appraisers, but they've never had anything even approadching the value of the collection of Imperial Chinese Art, Ching Dynasty that we showcased; they've never had anything as significant as the collection of Relics of the Passion of Christ that we showed; they've never even dreamed of seeing a collection of art from the Chinese Cultural Revolution (we showed the best that exists); neither they nor anyone else would have believed the collection of Renaissance Art handed down for more than 500 years in the House of Bourbon that we profiled. And now, this week, we have another one! We show & discuss 3 never before seen works of art done by one of the most famous Russian Avant Garde artists of the teens & 20's--Lyubov Popova. These pieces were collected by the current owners grandfather in Paris c. 1930. They are completely unknown to the world! One of the paintings, a gouache dated c. 1913, may well be one of the most important paintings of the 20th century. It follows Duchamps "Nude Descending a Staircase" by no more than a year, and, in my opinion, it dramatically takes that concept and approach to the next level. Please join us this Sunday evening, October 18, 2015, for another groundbreaking show on iAntique. We're on at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary