Art Show at Brass in Denver

  • The Brass Armadillo Antique Mall in Denver will be having an art show and sale on November 13 & 14, so I've devoted this week's show to previewing it + looking at art works currently for sale in the Mall. On Friday evening, November 13, we'll have a wine & cheese reception beginning at 6PM, which kicks off the 20% off category sale for all art in the Mall. The sale continues on Saturday from 9 to 9. Several dealers, myself included, will bring out paintings & sculptures & art photographs that are of higher value than we usually sell in the Mall. I expect we'll have 50 or 60 paintings that would normally be sent to the premier auction houses. Examples are the following works that belong to me & which I discuss in this week's show: a landscape by Colorado artist, William Sanderson; a 16th century Dutch painting of an old man carving a boar's head; a soft ground limited edition etching by Christopher Wool (a painting by Wool recently sold for $30 million, which is the highest price ever achieved at auction for a work by a living artist); an oil on board that I attribute to Eanger Irving Couse; a portrait of Ernest Hemingway from 1959 done by Basque primitive artist, Domingo Uriarte. There will be great variety, and we'll try to get photos & info up on the site for many of the pieces prior to the sale so that those members who can't be in Denver can see what's on offer & take advantage of the 20% off during those 2 days by calling in to the Mall. I do hope that many of you can make it to the sale to see the works in person. I know that we'll have some truly exceptional pieces at mall prices--it's a great way for owners to pass on savings by not having to pay the high auction house commissions. But first, please tune in Sunday evening, October 25, 2015, for this week's show highlighting not only the Art Show in November, but also a few of the great paintings for sale in the Mall today. We're on at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary