19th Century Illustrated Newspapers

  • Those forerunners of today's tabloids, the 19th century illustrated newspapers, were the common man's way of learning about the world. Beginning with the Illustrated London News in Britain in 1842 and continuing with Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper & Harper's Weekly in the U.S. beginning in the 1850's, these newspapers provided not only news, but short stories, cartoons, and most importantly for us collectors, illustrations, that show us how the 19th century American saw the world. I've selected 6 illustrations: 3 from Harper's, 1 from Frank Leslie, 1 from the Illustrated London News, and 1 from Collier's to use as examples to demonstrate how dealers today market these historic images, almost all of which were hand colored wood engravings (not photographs, even though photography was invented in 1839). I hope you can join us this Sunday evening, December 27, 2015, for this week's show on 19th Century Illustrated Newspapers. We're on at the usual time, 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary