Good, Better, & Best (II)

  • Albert Sacks is probably the most famous American antiques dealer ever, and he wrote the Bible on American antique furniture entitled, "Good, Better, and Best." He employed a methodology of comparing pieces describling what makes one piece better than a comp, and what makes the best you can get in any category. I did a show a little over a year ago in which I compared 3 tilt-top tables using his approach. In this week's show I selected about 10 pieces currently for sale in the Brass Armadillo Antique Mall in Denver to apply this technique to. I looked at stoneware crocks, early American painted furniture, a Western American landscape, 2 great signs, a beautiful walnut dresser, a Louis XVI marble top commode, a William & Mary chest, a turn of the century banquet lamp,and several other pieces. Please join us this coming Sunday everning, February 7, 2016, for this week's show in which we profile these great examples of 17th, 18th, 19th, and 20th century collectibles. We're on at the usual time, 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary