Chicago World's Fair 1933-34

  • The Chicago World's Fair of 1933-34 was titled, " A Century of Progress," and promoted the 100 years of Chicago's existence. But, it was far more than that. It was truly a WORLD'S Fair, which brought together exhibitors, private & quasi-governmental, from around the world. Collectibles from the Fair are many & varied and range from postcards to posters to jewelry, you name it. Check out ebay to see the scope & prices. In this week's show I highlight about 10 items that I recently acquired that are seldom seen but illustrate, I hope, the Fair's influence on the Windy City. There's a visitor's book from Marshall Field, the premier retailer in town. There's a booklet devoted to a French exhibit--the world's biggest painting--400+ feet long & 45 feet high that is a Pantheon cyclorama for the First World War. I have an original Score Card for the first Major League All-Star Game held on July 6, 1933--it was a promotion by the Fair's management that set the precendent for our mid-summer classic. Please join us at the usual time, this coming Sunday evening, March 6, 2016, at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. No Oscars this week!-No excuses! Gary