Illustration Art

  • Illustration art is one of the hottest categories, and it has been for years--ever since the public decided that illustrations could actually be "ART." In this week's show we'll take a close look at the work of Colorado's most famous illustrators, Paul Gregg & Herndon Davis. Gregg did the Sunday magazine cover of the Denver Post for 47 years! Herndon Davis is famous as the artist of the "Face on the Barroom Floor" in Central City, CO. I have a beautiful oil on canvas painting that Paul Gregg did in 1934 that depicts a robin in a tree against a winter mountain landscape. In the show I try to make the case that this illustration rises to the level of art. The Herndon Davis work, a watercolor portrait of the magician, Chandu, was probably done in 1939. It's got quite a story! Hope you can tune in for this week's show, which is on at the usual time, Sunday evening, May 15, 2016: 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Gary