Researching Old Books

  • How many times have you come across an old book, possibly falling apart, possibly in a language you don't understand, just waiting for someone to buy it for a song? Maybe at an estate or yard sale, maybe in an antique store or mall? In Sunday's show I'll profile one such book. It's pictured with this blog. It's in a very old vellum binding; it's in Latin; it's HANDWRITTEN, not printed. The author and publisher and publication date are not written or printed in the book, which is 500+ pages long. By working through the process needed to identify and value this book, I hope that it will provide an example of how you can research any old book that you happen to find. This particular volume belongs to a fellow dealer at the Brass Armadillo Antique Mall in Denver, CO. Tune in to learn how he acquired it and how much I eventually estimated its value to be. Hint: if you had found this book for sale it would have been a good buy at more than $1,000! We're on at the usual time this coming Sunday evening, May 22, 2016: 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Hope you can join us. Gary