18th Century Engravings

  • Please tune in this coming Sunday evening for this week's show on 18th Century British Engravings. I've done previous shows, which are in the Videos section, on how to distinguish among engravings, etchings, lithographs, and other forms of printing, but in this show we'll look at a very special category: stipple engravings, which are probably more like etchings than line engravings, and which can easily be mistaken for lithographs when looked at under magnification. We'll look at 5 examples, and then compare them with 2 original Audubon lithographs done by Bowen 1840-1844. These are all gorgeous antique works of art, with the British examples giving us a glimpse into life in London 200+ years ago. We're on at the usual time, Sunday, January 8, 2017: 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST. Hope you can join us. Gary