Sterling Silver

  • I did a show a few years ago on identification of silver, sterling silver marks, and how to calculate melt down value. That show is in the Videos section. In this week's program I'll discuss some recent acquisitions: a 3 piece tea set by S. Kirk & Son of Baltimore exhibiting their extraordinary repousee work, a kettle on stand with burner by Gorham of Providence, a 113 piece flatware set by Wallace, ice cube tongs also by Kirk, and others. I'll use the flatware set, which is in a matching pattern called Stradivari, to assess the pros & cons of selling it as scrap or as a useable set. Stradivari is a fairly plain pattern, not like the more collectible Grand Baroque, but this is a huge, great matching set, and it would be a shame to see it melted down. I'll try to reason this all out in our show which begins at 5PM PST, 6PM MST, 7PM CST, 8PM EST this coming Sunday, January 15, 2017. Hope you can join us. Gary