Oregon Trail Collectibles Part I

  • The Oregon Trail was our way west to Oregon & California from the 1830s til the completion of the Transcontinental Railroad in 1869, and that's a period full of stories and objects associated with those stories. And some of those objects  are out there to collect, and they often have quite uncredible stories to tell. So, for the next 2 weeks I've selected some very interesting pieces relating to the Oregon Trail to profile in our shows. There's an Alfred Jacob Miller oil painting of a Native American on horseback c. 1838; there are maps from the 1840s; first hand accounts of the journey in the form of books and magazine articles; newspaper articles from Sacramento and San Francisco of the 1849 gold rush; photographs taken with a "mammoth camera" of Yosemite and the Willamette Valley by Carleton Watkins. So many things, in fact, that we've had to spread the program over 2 parts. Part I airs Sunday, April 9, 2017, at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Part II will follow next Sunday. Hope you can join us. Gary