Showcases in the Mall

  • I've always thought that the most important factor in the success of the antique mall that I work out of, the Brass Armadillo Antique Mall in Denver, is their system for handling sales of items in the locked showcases. The Mall is about an acre in size. There are about 500 locked showcases, 100 unlocked showcases, and about 250 booths. The square footage devoted to showcases is no more than 30% of the total, yet management tells me that about 50% of total $ sales derive from sales from the showcases. In this week's program, with the help of a person who works in the showcase sales system, I'll try to explain how the Mall handles the significant volume of sales & enquiries from customers that want to look at things in the locked cases, and at the same time do this expeditiously. No customer wants to wait for a person who might be in the middle of doing something else to go find a key to show her an item where she can't see the price tag! The Brass has figured out how to make the process quick & easy. Hint--you need to devote the manpower to make it happen! We're on at the usual time this coming Sunday, June 11, 2017: 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT, but if you're in the area this Saturday, June 10, stop in as we're having an unheard of sale--25% off items in the locked showcases! If you come, you could also stop off to say hi--Tom Davis & I will be doing our bi-monthly appraisals. Gary