Have Prices for Antiques Really Declined 80%?

  • On the Vintage Antiques Roadshow program that aired this week one of the appraisals taken from an Antiques Roadshow event in Albuquerque in 2002 was for the pearwood tea caddy, c.1810, that is shown with this blog. In 2002 it was appraised for $7,000-8,000. They now appraise it in 2017 for $1,200-1,800, a decline in value of 80%. But is that real?? We'll explore the issues this raises in this week's show. Hint: it's not an apples to apples comparison even though it's the same tea caddy! I'll take a few examples of pieces in other categories to do the same sort of comparison with. The problem with this kind of sensationalism is that people who don't follow the market for antiques closely might think that prices across the board (or even if they think it's just for tea caddies) are declining in value. Please join us this coming Sunday evening, June 25, 2017, for this week's program. We're on at 5PM PDT, 6PM MDT, 7PM CDT, 8PM EDT. Hope you can tune in. Gary